Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa // I Am An IMPOSSIBLELY HUGE FAN!

12591927_565890456896399_2033127264_o4.5 stars

4.5 stars – I loved it!! It was amazing! Is a new favourite! Almost perfect!

synopsis

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

reveiw

THIS BOOK!! DAMN!

Okay, I’ve been staring at this book on my shelf since I got it for Christmas and I’ve been kind of dubious about starting it, unsure if I was going to enjoy it that much! WELL I’M NOW DAMN SURE I ENJOYED IT!!

The characters in this book are my favourite type contemporary of characters, emotionally raw, a little bit effed up and a whole heap of original! Mira and her best friend Sebby are actually #friendshipgoals, they are literally the definition of each other’s rock and I LOVED IT! The way they were consistently there for each other, without being (to) dependent was making me so happy!! Despite my love for Mira and Sebby, Jeremy actually takes the cake for being THE.BEST.CHARACTER.EVER (okay, maybe not EVER! But definitely best character this week!) He is such a sweet heart, and yet so unsure of himself, ever thing he does has this double meaning of self doubt and my heart was melting for him!!! I just wanted to hug him and tell him he’s THE BEST!! And can we please just talk about this friendship group, we have a straight girl who’s battling depression and chronic fatigue syndrome, a bi-sexual self conscious boy with two dads, a gay drug addict and an obsessive lesbian. LIKE THEY DON’T SOUND LIKE CHARACTERS YOU WANT TO READ ABOUT!! AND THAT’S JUST THE MAIN CHARCATERS! All the side characters in this book are just as well constructed! When I say I LOVED IT I can’t shake in your face how much I loved it haha!!!

This book was mostly character driven (but that wasn’t a problem with me since the characters were phenomenal, if you didn’t catch that from above? LOL) but the plot that was there was one I can total get around as well! About friends, being there for each other and helping each other. This element of this book is actually beautiful because of this!

There was a hint of romance in the book but it was in no way a romance book. I did totally ship Sebby and Jeremy tho! YAS! But towards the end I wasn’t even egging on a romance I was just egging on their friendships!

There is one infamous scene in this book I has heard about previously in both a negative and positive light. It seems that your response to what happens is based completely on your personal opinion on the subject. To me, I didn’t mind it at all. I thought people had blown in way out of the context, cause I was half going into this scene expecting like pages and pages of graphic detail when it’s like half a page long and it’s all done in euphemism anyways.

Overall, this book is actually crazy good! I love when an author’s debut novel is flipping amazing! It makes me an automatic fan! I love contemporary’s like this, with wacky unique characters. If you’ve been on the fence about this book, JUST READ IT! TRUST ME IT’S SO GOOD!!

Add me on Goodreads & Instagram 🙂

12633328_565890450229733_1024015765_osigniture

Advertisements

About Amy

I'm an 20 year old uni student who majors in procrastinating. It's wonderful really - many a great read was read because of it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s